Melissa Jane Dichiera ~ Rock and Roll Fantasy Goddess

Melissa Jane Dichiera–Photo courtesy of GIAPhotomelissadichiera2

Melissa Jane Dichiera (or Melissa Jane as she’s simply known on the rock circuit) is someone you might be familiar with if you are an avid watcher of basic cable TV’s VH1 Classic. That channel has been airing the reality TV program “Rock and Roll Fantasy Camp”, based on the actual camp, and Melissa was one of many chosen to perform with one of the bands competing for the chance to perform with a rock legend in the finale. Lo and behold, the band she was in won on the show, and they performed with Sammy Hagar.
I was happy to discover who she was through that show, because I found she is a very exciting rock performer onstage, and seems to already have great stage presence with the 3 bands she works in: SYNN, Final Gravity and the all-girl Zeppelin tribute band Lady Zep.

Melissa had a few minutes to talk about her musical path.

CM: Can you talk about your musical background?

Melissa: I have been singing since I was 5 years old. I started out listening to Aretha Franklin and would sing along to her cassette tape all day long [laughs]. At about age 10 my older brother started playing guitar and discovered this band called Guns ‘N Roses, and I was blown away by this new rocking music. I also studied Opera, Gospel and musical theatre but really had a special place for Rock ‘n Roll.

melissadichieraR&RFCCM: What was the experience like working with the other participating musicians and the mentors on Rock and Roll Fantasy Camp? For your group it was Matt Sorum.

Melissa: I was super lucky to be put with a band of super cool people, and a super cool mentor that just happened to be from one of my favorite bands GNR. Matt really helped us as much as he could, on and off camera. He was awesome to learn from.

CM: Besides this activity, you’re active in several different working bands. Can you please talk about them?

Melissa: I am currently in 3 bands: Lady Zep, which is an all female Led Zeppelin tribute, and I’ve been with them for 2 years. SYNN is my original Metal band that I have been with for 3 years, and Final Gravity my original progressive rock band which I have been with for 2 years. I really love all three bands, and get to work with some amazingly talented musicians

Lady Zep: The Wanton Song – Fresno – 9/1/12

CM: What would you like to see happen as a result of your Facebook page titled “Melissa Dichiera deserves to be signed to a record label”?

melissadichiera3
Melissa: I would like to get a million likes and hopefully get some notice from the record labels to launch my career and be able to tour the world with my bands. I just love to perform live and hope people like me performing live. Then hopefully they will like my page and follow my musical journey.

SYNN: Day Of Wrath (Official Music Video)

You can find out more about Melissa and her bands at these locations:

Lady Zep (MySpace Page)

SYNN (MySpace Page)

“Melissa Jane Dichiera” deserves to be signed to a Record Label (Facebook page)

Final Gravity – Official Site

Leave a Reply

