Beethoven: What I Would Have Asked Him

To celebrate the 241st Birthday of Ludwig van Beethoven, I decided to post a “What I Would Have Asked” for LVB. I must stress that these are just possible questions.
The “Ghost of LVB” mysteriously showed up for the John Cage question, but sadly I couldn’t get anything else out of him.

CM: Has anyone ever called you Lud for short?

CM: So, how’d you become interested in classical music?

CM: I take it you never popped in a mixtape of jams to sort of balance out your days composing…

CM: Okay, so, the 5th Symphony–Was that first movement really about death at one’s door?

CM: Do you like that they made a spray-can that plays the 5th Symphony?

CM: When you went deaf, what exactly caused that back then? Did you play into your amp too much?

CM: So there’s this guy John Cage that has been telling people “Beethoven was wrong!”–What would you say to him if you could now?

(Ghost of LVB: I already soundly thrashed him for talking smack about me.)

CM: So, did you write the 9th Symphony as a longer piece because people hated you for making symphonies longer than Mozart’s?

4 thoughts on “Beethoven: What I Would Have Asked Him

  1. Priceless. Hard to pick one, but this one really had me laughing: “I take it you never popped in a mixtape of jams to sort of balance out your days composing…” Happy Birthday to Lud!

Leave a Reply

